Wednesday, August 26, 2009

2009 SCAC Football Media Days - Millsaps College

Millsaps College enters the 2009 season as the preseason favorite to win the SCAC for the third consecutive season after posting the schools first ever ten win season (11-1) and an appearnce in the second round of the NCAA playoffs a year ago. Head coach Mike DuBose enters his fourth year as head coach with a career record of 26-7 (19-1).

The Majors will have a different look in 2009 as they lost 20 seniors, 12 of which were starters last season. Millsaps returns five starters on offense including 2008 SCAC Co-Newcomer-of-the-Year running back Shane Bowser. The biggest loss for the Majors is trying to replace three-time SCAC Offensive Player of the Year and All-American quarterback Juan Joseph, who sported a 26-7 overall record as a starter in three seasons.

Defensively the Majors return senior linebackers Lee Klein, Sam Herman, Jaren Bowser and Miles Sager. Returning up front are seniors David Dale, Mason Burrell and Kyle Hughes who combined for 64 tackles and 3.5 sacks a year ago.

Millsaps also returns special teams standouts in kicker Taylor Russolino (named Fred Mitchell Award watch list), senior punter Will Lawrimore (school record 77-yard punt against Bellhaven), and SCAC Special Teams Player of the Year in Michael Galatas (averaged 23.6 yards per kick return).

To hear the thoughts and comments of Head Coach Mike DuBose, click here.

To hear the thoughts and comments of Senior Wide Receiver John Milazzo, click here.

To hear the thoughts and comments of Senior Linebacker Lee Klein, click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment